Salpicão

Feliz Natal ! Joyeux Noël ! Merry Christmas !

No, I’m not one day late. For me, and according to the liturgical calendar, the Christmas season is from December 25 to January 6 (Epiphany). I’ve always been a bit of a rebel and dislike wishing a “Merry Christmas” to anyone during Advent. So I have a whole 2 weeks to wish anyone I know a very Merry Christmas. 😉 Another thing I like about living in a tropical country is that there isn’t much of the confusion about Christmas and celebrating the winter season. Sure, we do see a bit of the papai Noel, and the businesses still wish the generic “Boas Festas” (Happy Holidays), but Christmas is relatively small compared to the New Year’s big party with firework al gusto.

Today I came here to share my newest Brazilian recipe. I’ve made it quite a few times since I found it over at A Taste of Brazil (en), which is by the way an excellent blog about all the delicious Brazilian food. Hubby and I love it, and to my surprise the kids too! (The youngest still hasn’t got all his teeth).

I had tasted Salpicão many times at parties but, like so many new things, I had forgotten the name by the time I got home. Trying to find a recipe online without its name is like trying to find the name of a fruit or a plant: waste of time. So how happy was I the other day when I found the name with picture AND the recipe over at one of my favorite blogs! Hurray!

Salpicão is some sort of a fusion between coleslaw and chicken salad. I guess in North America we would call it a Chicken Coleslaw and replace the raisins with cranberries (hee hee). The best part for you who reads from some land far, far away, is that you will probably find all ingredients with no trouble, year round. It’s an exotic Brazilian recipe with normal ingredients! How fantastic is that!!? :mrgreen:

Here is the recipe with some of my alterations. I should also mention that there are many different versions all over Brazil and the internet depending on the region, seasonal availability and personal preferences. Some add celery, olives, red pepper or whatever seems tasty.

Ingredients

600g cooked and shredded chicken breast
2 large carrots, shredded
2 apples, diced
1 cup raisins
2 cups cabbage (or 1 small), thinly sliced
1 or 2 green onions, thinly sliced
mayonnaise
salt

Boil the chicken using a pressure cooker (we all have a pressure cooker here) or normal pan. Once the chicken is cooked and tender remove from the broth and shred. Set aside to cool. Prepare and mix well all ingredients in large bowl. Be generous with the mayonnaise. Place in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Voilà!

6 comentários sobre “Salpicão

Oi! Tudo bom?

