Sede de chuva

Oi, we are still here! We haven’t melted yet, which is surprising considering that the temperatures haven’t been under 30°C for quite a while now, for so long in fact that I can’t remember how  “cold” must feel. I’m (kinda) dreaming of wearing a little vest or long sleeves. How does it feel like not to be constantly sweating? I forgot. Just to give an idea, last night as I was getting ready for bed I was happy because the wind had picked up, it seemed it was going to rain (I like a nice storm while I’m in bed), I even thought that it has gotten cooler… but I checked and it was 30.6°C (as opposed to the usual 34°C).The rainy season hasn’t started yet. It should soon, but we’ve had only a few drizzles that have left us begging for more.

My laptop computer has been acting up. I bought it before leaving Canada two years ago, so it’s relatively new (for me), but I suppose that even those machines aren’t meant to be working in such temperatures. Should I consider giving it a rest in the fridge? Of course, we did think about installing A/C, but with the way the house is built (no insulation between the ceiling and the tile roof), it would be a total waste of money. Not that it keeps our less fortunate neighbors (who live in wooden, shack like houses) to enjoy their A/C, but then I haven’t asked to see their electricity bill, which for us is already about twice the amount we were paying in Canada as it is. Thank God, my kitchen oven is gas (also, we definitely don’t need to heat the house! haha).

Oh, speaking of the pleasures of a very modern commodity. We’ve also had regular power cuts everyday for the past few months. Mostly from the hours of 2 to 4 PM, and 6 to 8 PM because, I suppose, that’s when the whole town turns on its fans, TVs, computers, and AIR CONDITIONING after work. Curiously the bill hasn’t been any cheaper.

The following song (Sede de chuva // Thirst for rain) is not my favorite style of Brazilian music (I prefer MPB), but I thought the song was very à propos. I liked the lyrics and funny video.

Móveis Coloniais de Acaju – Sede de chuva

Sempre foi e assim será
Minha sina é esperar
O dia em que você irá voltarQuando finalmente for
Da distância entre nós dois
Ser mais que ar, que fé, que pó e calor

O seu cheiro é meu suor
O seu gosto vem me despertar, me cobre de cor
Meu contorno sei de cor
O seu choro vem me confortar, lavar essa dor

Molha e percorre o meu corpo
Chora todo o seu, todo o seu amor
Volta e me deixa bem úmida
E inunda o meu ser

E segue a seca a me queimar
Abraço o azul do céu e espero o cinza desaguar
Acaba com o vazio dessa minha sede de chuva

Quando finalmente for
Da distância entre nós dois
Ser mais que ar, que fé, que pó e calor

O seu cheiro é meu suor
O seu gosto vem me despertar, me cobre de cor
Meu contorno sei de cor
O seu choro vem me confortar, lavar essa dor

Molha e percorre o meu corpo
Chora todo o seu, todo o seu amor
Volta e me deixa bem úmida
E inunda o meu ser

E segue a seca a me queimar
Abraço o azul do céu e espero o cinza desaguar
Acaba com o vazio dessa minha sede de chuva

Always been and always will be
My fate is to wait
The day when you’ll returnWhen it finally happens
The distance between us both
Will be more than air, than faith, than dust and heat

Your smell is my sweat
Your taste comes to wake me, covers me with color
I know my profile by heart
Her crying comforts me, washes this pain away

Wet and cover my body
Cry all your, all your love
Come back and leave me all drenched
And flood all my being

And following the drought that burns me
I embrace the blue sky and hope for the gray to drain
To end with this emptiness of mine, my thirst for rain

When it finally happens
The distance between us both
Will be more than air, than faith, than dust and heat

Your smell is my sweat
Your taste comes to wake me, covers me with color
I know my profile by heart
Her crying comforts me, washes this pain away

Wet and cover my body
Cry all your, all your love
Come back and leave me all drenched
And flood all my being

And following the drought that burns me
I embrace the blue sky and hope for the gray to drain
To end with this emptiness of mine, my thirst for rain

4 comentários sobre “Sede de chuva

  1. …Ici on a pu d’été en aout mais l’été est là maintenant
    Il devrait même faire 29° ce we ce qui incompréhensible…
    J’ai pas fini d’écouter la chanson, pas trop mon style non plus…
    Maintenant j’ai dans la tête “Ojala que llueva café!” J’ai jamais compris pourquoi du café… et pas de l’eau mais bon… Tu connais? C’est pas du portugais mais c’est pas très loin 😉

    • J’ai eu mon époque salsa/merengue, mais je ne connaissais pas cette chanson. Il faut dire que je n’écoutais pas vraiment les paroles j’étais toujours plus occupée à danser! 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip, I’ll check it out. However I don’t think it’s the problem. The fan seems to be working fine (and I clean it regularly). The computer is hot even when shut down. It’s 36°C right now.

Oi! Tudo bom?

