Mudança

The last ten days in Rondônia were exhausting.

On the last weekend before the move, D was giving his last services in the four churches he has been serving for the past 3 years and a half. I usually attend only one service a week with the children, simply because I like to go to church on Sunday mornings. I prefer to wake up and get everyone ready first thing Sunday morning, rather than fight with sleepy or over exited children on Saturday or Sunday evening. Plus, I like to have the chance of spending the whole day of Sunday thinking about the Scriptures, meditating on the sermon or singing hymns (aloud or in my head), or not. However on our last weekend, the children and I accompanied D to all four services. heard the same sermon four times, and said goodbye to all. For this, there were pot luck meals organized after the services on Friday evening and Sunday morning. Saturday evening was D, last service at the big church and his des-installation, the official moment where another pastor announces that he is no longer a pastor of the congregation. It felt bittersweet to say goodbye to all. I’m am sincerely overjoyed to leave that chapter of our lives behind, but it was our daily life. There were a lot of bad people there, but also some very nice ones. Like everywhere.

During the following week it seemed everybody was having a birthday party or wanted to see us one last time before we left. Did I mention that we needed to be all packed by Thursday to load the truck on Friday morning? There was little sleep on Wednesday and Thursday night, none at all on Friday. D woke up at 4 AM, had coffee (I suppose), picked up the cat in the carrier and was off with the truck, the driver and all our stuff.

I stayed behind with the kids camping in an empty house for the next five days to give a chance for our belongings to arrive to destination. Those days “in between” were a bit eery. After an uncharacteristically mostly dry rainy season, it started raining after we loaded the moving truck. So in my last days in that town with the children, we had to take walks in between rain showers a couple of times a day only for grocery shopping since we had neither fridge nor stove. Cereals for breakfast, restaurant for lunch, and sandwiches in the evening. It wasn’t so bad.

In the morning of the very last day, I woke up very early to deflate my very uncomfortable mattress and pack the luggage that would travel with the children and me. A friend came to pick up all the rest of our junk that would become someone else’s treasures. I couldn’t believe all the shit stuff she took! I was happy that she was willing to find some use for the old baby cribs (we had bought them used in Canada and I couldn’t see the sight of them anymore), but when she ended up taking every single stuff that was left behind in the house (yes, the old and moldy bath towels and rugs too!), I couldn’t help it, I started laughing! She looked at me funny. I don’t know if I sounded hysterical, but in between the tiredness, the accumulated stress and the elation of finally being out of there, I guess laughing was some sort of release. Ha ha!

Soon after she hugged me and the children for a last time (once more!) and left, some other friends came to pick us up for the airport.

The first flight was one hour late because of a strike. When we arrived to Cuiabá, our two other flights had to be rescheduled. So instead of arriving in Brasília at a reasonable 9:30PM, we arrived exhausted at midnight. D and a new friend had thankfully been waiting for us and we drove for two hour in the last stretch of our journey.

I couldn’t see much outside in the middle of the night, but my first impression of Brasilia are big wide tree-lined avenues, modern and clean… After leaving the city it was all dark around. The kids quickly fell asleep. D assured me that the landscape was beautiful. He was probably more tired than me, but I could already hear that he felt much better in our new place.

Our house is a bit smaller, but better made. The days are hot, but the nights are cooler (Thank God!). The town is very small, but oh, the nature is gorgeous!

 

 

 

4 comentários sobre “Mudança

    • … and in more ways than you think! It’s not just the distance from shop or other amenities (after all, we are still in a small town), but people are much less ignorant… It’s hard to explain because the education system/problem is the same all across Brazil. Hopefully I’ll find some time to talk about it more…. 🙂

Oi! Tudo bom?

