Taioba

I haven’t been very bloggish lately. Our shaky internet connection hasn’t helped the matter; every time the power goes down, hubby has to restart the router, un- and re-plug the wireless and its all very frustrating when I can’t have my little dose of nothingness in my busy mama’s schedule…

One of the duty of my husband as a pastor is to visit members of our church. Sometimes he comes back with some goodies such as a new plant, some nhame, bananas or lately ponkan. A couple of months ago he came back from a visit with HUGE green leaves that I had never seen before. They were to be eaten.

taioba

I don’t know if the fork gives you an idea of the size, but apparently these leaves can get even bigger than the ones we were given. I had no idea how to prepare them except that they had to be cooked, because otherwise poisonous. So I cut them the same way I do with couve (collard greens), the way I learned here (I’d never eaten collard greens before coming to Brazil).

sliced couve

I wash each leaf separately, cut the central stem, roll the leaves together and cut them in very fine slices. My slices are probably not thin enough in Brazilian standards, but since hubby doesn’t care much for greens, I’m pretty pleased with myself! 😉

Then, fry some onion in the pan and add the greens briefly until tender. That’s it!

Compared to couve that has a bitter taste, taioba on the other hand is very smooth and buttery, a bit like spinach. I liked taioba so much that D came back the day after with some tubers and planted them in the garden. (Our leaves are pretty small so far… Our garden has too much sun exposure, not enough shade).

This post was to prove that we eat more than fruits in this country. :mrgreen:

6 comentários sobre “Taioba

    • En fait j’ai oublié de le mentionner, mais ça réduit beaucoup à la cuisson. Donc il en faut beaucoup plus que quelques feuilles pour nourrir toute la famille! (sauf la mienne puisqu’il n’y a que moi qui en mange pour l’instant) 😉

    • Mais si, tu connais sûrement les premières: le “couve” sont les feuilles de choux-fleur (en portugais “couve-flor”). Il y en a probablement d’autres que je ne connais pas…

  1. My kind of food! I love greens. Like, really. One fun recipe is the Chinese “bing” (pancake). Mince scallions and spinach (or any kind of green, really), make some dough with water/flour/salt and pan fry the green with the pancake. It’s delicious and easy to eat… even for picky eaters who don’t like greens!

    I’m very curious about your husband’s duties as a pastor. You can write about it, I’d be the first to read and comment. 🙂

    • I have a very similar recipe that I learned from my mother. Now that I think of it, she might have learned it when we were living in Hong-Kong!

      If I don’t write much about my hubby’s duties, it’s probably because he is bound by professional confidentiality, and I’m never sure what that really means for me! 🙂

Oi! Tudo bom?

